top of page
Ada Lai.jpg

A versatile musician, James Boznos (1969, Chicago) has been the Principal Timpanist of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HK Phil) since 2000. James has been a soloist with the HK Phil on three occasions, having performed both of the William Kraft Timpani Concertos as well as his own composition Concerto for Timpani, Roto-Toms and Orchestra. In 2019, the China Philharmonic and Guangzhou Symphony premiered Concerto no. 2, Pavilions, for extended timpani, orchestra and mp3, with the composer as soloist.

He has been a frequent guest principal with the Taiwan Philharmonic, Singapore Symphony, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa and the Seoul Philharmonic. He teaches at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and the University of Hong Kong.

Prior to joining the HK Phil, James worked regularly with the Chicago Symphony and the leading new music groups of Boston and Chicago. In those years, some highlights include performing Iannis Xenakis' Psappha for solo percussion in the ancient amphitheatre in Delphi, Greece, and playing Derive I and II at the Berlin Staatsoper for Pierre Boulez's 75th birthday, with Boulez himself conducting.

With his ensemble KLANG, he conducted over 60 contemporary works including the US and Asia premiere of Donnerstags Gruss by Stockhausen. He has also conducted the Taiwan Philharmonic, HK Phil and the Chicago Chamber Orchestra.

As a composer, James Boznos uses the pen name OZNO. He has written music for orchestra, chamber, solo, vocal, electronic genres as well as for the theatre. Recent premieres have included: Cantata no.1, Anesti, for 6 instruments, 6 voices and synthetic orchestra, Cantata no. 2, Nevu’ah, for 6-part chorus, 19 instrumentalists and tape, Cantata no. 3, Gabriel, for soloists, choir, orchestra and mp3, with the Hong Kong Bach Choir.

Jaap van Zweden and the HK Phil performed Oikogeneia for orchestra in 2016, and will premiere his Concerto for Piccolo with Linda Stuckey as soloist.





  • Social Distancing (2020) op. 23, for 10 antiphonal instrumentalists and mp3 (“11) 

  • Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra(2020) op. 22 (“20)

  • Cantata Nr.3 “Gabriel” (2019) op. 21, for soloists, 4 part mixed choir, orchestra and mp3 (“30)

  • orchestra and mp3 (“40)( tmp, 5 prc.,hrp, piano (strings)

  • Concerto Nr.2 “Pavilions” (2019) op. 20, for extended timpani, 

  • Cantata Nr.2 “Nevu’ah” (2015) op. 19, for solo soprano, 6 part mixed chorus,19 instrumentalists and mp3 (“40)

  • a time, and times, and half a time (2013) op. 18, for solo snare drummer and synthetic instruments (“10)

  • Cantata Nr.1 “Anesti” (2012) op. 17,for 6 part mixed chorus, 6 instrumentalists, synthetic orchestra/tape (“25)

  • Locutions of Dune (2010) op. 16, for saxophone quartet  (“14)

  • Symphony No.1 “The Staircase of the Tian-Wang” (2006/7)op.15, for 16 antiphonal musicians, synthetic orchestra and mp3(“50)

  • Oikogenia (2006/2016) op. 14, for orchestra (“45)

  • YuYuan Preludes (2005/8) op. 13, for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, percussion, violin and piano (“13)

  • Google (2005/14) op. 12, for orchestra ( (“3)

  • Zoon (2005) op.11a, for solo flute and drone, op.11b(2009) for solo percussion and drone (“12)

  • The Gathering (2004) op. 10, for synthetic ensemble (lute, banjo, cimbalon, harp, hand-bells, koto and shakuhachi) (“6)

  • The Elisabeth Music (2005) op. 9, for violin and orchestra ( (“17)​

  • Taniquetil (2004) op. 8, for orchestra ( (“18)

  • Concerto for Timpani, Roto-toms and Orchestra (2003) op.7, ( (“25)

  • Angkor (2003) op.6, for 3 trumpets and 3 trombones (“20)

  • Shadow Puppets (2002) op.5, for oboe, vibraphone, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello and bass (“10)

  • The Shaman (1994) op. 4, for solo percussionist and tape (“8)

  • Piano Etudes (1992) op. 3, for solo piano (“15)

  • Escher Themes (1991) op. 2, for orchestra, ( (“12)

  • The Obligatory Recitative (1989-90) op. 1, for woodwind quintet (“20)

bottom of page