WONG Joseph 黃逸偉 


Joseph Wong studied music at the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the University of York, where he obtained his MMus and PhD respectively. His composition teachers include Dr. Thomas Simaku and Prof. Victor Chan. He also studied voice with Dr. Derek Anthony and sheng (Chinese mouth organ) with Mr. Cheng Tak-wai.


As a composer of both acoustic and electro-acoustic music, Wong’s major works have been performed in Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Israel and South Korea. His recent performances include Via Dolorosa for solo violin (The 30th Asian Composers League Music Festival 2012, Isreal), Roll-up-banner for violin and cello with visual projection (SOUND-IMAGination: Hong Kong Snapshots, 2012), and the audio-visual piece In Our Fast-Changing City (Hong Kong Musicarama 2012). In 2009, his Duo for percussion was awarded the Nicola LeFanu Composition Prize by the University of York, United Kingdom.


Besides composing, Wong has for many years been working as music editor, educator, arranger and sound editor. He has also published over 100 articles on music technology in printed media and online. He is currently working as an adjunct assistant professor of the Music Department, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and visiting lecturer of the Hong Kong Community College, Hong Kong Polytechnic University.


Personal Website






YouTube Channel



黃氏畢業於香港中文大學及英國約克大學,分別取得音樂碩士及哲學博士,主修作曲,師承陳偉光教授及 Thomas Simaku 博士。另外亦曾隨 Derek Anthony 博士學習聲樂,及鄭德惠先生學習笙。


作為一位創作傳統樂器及電子音樂的作曲家,黃氏的作品曾於香港、英國、以色列及南韓等地演出。其近期演出之作品包括為小提琴而寫的《苦路》(2012年於以色列舉行之亞洲作曲家同盟音樂節);為小提琴、大提琴及影像投影而寫的《易拉架》(聲影集:香港剪影音樂會 2012);以及影音作品《在這瞬息萬變的都市中》(音樂新文化 2011)。另外,黃氏之《敲擊樂二重奏》更於2009年榮獲約克大學頒發 Nicola NeFanu 作曲獎。



Orchestral (Western)


The Last Trumpet 16’

     for orchestra

Eternal Light (2005) 9'

     for orchestra

Orchestral Prelude (2002) 3'

     for orchestra


Chamber (Western)


The Little Vagabond (2008-9) 8'

     for soprano and 6 players (Clarinet/Bass Clarinet, Trumpet, Percussion, Piano, Violin & Cello)

Ruach for 16 Players (2008) 10'

     for flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 horns in F, trumpet in C, tenor trombone, 2 percussionists, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello & double bass

Percussion Duo (2008) 12'

     for 2 percussionists

Trinitas (2007) 7'30"

     for clarinet/ bass clarinet in Bb, violin & cello

String Quartet No. 2 (2007 / 2011 rev.) 8'

The Lord's Prayer (2006) 4'

     for baritone, clarinet & piano

String Quartet No. 1 (2006) 6'

Sonatina (1997) 4'40"for clarinet & piano


Instrumental Solo


Trinitas III: Via Dolorosa (2008) 7'

     for violin

Trinitas II: The Mighty Hands (2007) 5'

     for cello

Lonely at Night (1997) 7'

     for violin


Vocal / Choral


The Twenty-Third Psalm (2012) 3’30”

     for SSATB & piano

The Lord Bless You and Keep You (2002) 1'10"

     for SATB & piano


Electro-Acoustic Music / Computer Music


In Our Fast-Changing City (2012) 6’

     for audio-visual projection

Roll-Up-Banner (2012) 1’30”

     for violin, cello and video projection

Trinitas IV: The Wind Blows Wherever It Pleases (2011) 6’

     for bass clarinet and live electronics

Chorale "Jesu meine Freude" & Variations (2006) 5'

     for baritone, electronic keyboard & Max/MSP

Fantasia at a Solitary Night (2006) 3'

     for tape


Publications / Paper Presentations


Co-Author (Music Arrangement), Journey in Music for Primary School (12 Volumes). Excellence Publication, 2006.



管弦樂 (西樂)


號筒末次吹響時 (2011) 16'

     for orchestra

永恆之光 (2005) 9'
     for orchestra
前奏曲 (2002) 3'
     for orchestra


室樂 (西樂)


小浪子 (2008-9) 8'
     for soprano and 6 players (Clarinet/Bass Clarinet, Trumpet, Percussion, Piano, Violin & Cello)
靈風 (2008) 10'
     for flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 horns, trumpet, tenor trombone, 2 percussionists, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello & double bass

敲擊樂二重奏 (2008) 12'
     for 2 percussionists
三‧一 (2007) 7'30"
     for clarinet/ bass clarinet, violin & cello
第二弦樂四重奏 (2007 / 2011 rev.) 8'
主禱文 (2006) 4'
     for baritone, clarinet & piano
第一弦樂四重奏 (2006) 6'

小奏鳴曲 (1997) 4'40"
     for clarinet & piano




三‧一系列之三:苦路 (2008) 7'
     for violin

三‧一系列之二:能手 (2007) 6'
     for cello

夜孤寂 (1997) 7'
     for violin


聲樂 / 合唱


詩篇廿三篇 (2012) 3'30"
     for SSATB & piano

願主賜福保守你 (2002) 1'10"
     for SATB & piano


電子音樂 / 電腦音樂


在這瞬息萬變的都市中 (2012) 6'
     for audio-visual projection

易拉架 (2012) 1'30"
     for violin, cello and video projection

三‧一系列之四:風隨著意思吹 (2011) 6'
     for Bass Clarinet and Live Electronics

《耶穌吾友》及變奏曲 (2006) 5'
     for baritone, electronic keyboard & Max/MSP

孤荒夜想 (2006) 3'
     for tape


出版刊物 / 發表文章


副編 (音樂編曲), 小學音樂之旅 (共十二冊).卓師出版社, 2006.


Copyright © 2021 Hong Kong Composers' Guild Ltd. All rights reserved.

Subscribe for ENews 訂閱本會消息
  • HKCG page
  • HKCG channel