LEE Yi-wei Angus 李一葦

Angus Lee is a Hong Kong composer-performer. Graduating from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (2014) and the Royal Academy of Music (2016) with the highest honours, Lee is currently a member of the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble and a regular freelancing musician with the Hong Kong Sinfonietta.


As an active instrumentalist Lee has made appearance at numerous new music academies, including the Modern Academy, the London Sinfonietta Academy, and most notably the Lucerne Festival Academy, where he has fostered a strong relationship and has been invited to perform at Academy founder Pierre Boulez’s memorial concert as the soloist in Mémoriale (... explosante-fixe... Originel).


Equally active as a composer, Lee’s works has brought him to multiple composition academies and masterclasses, where he had the fortune of studying with, among others, Toshio Hosokawa, Mark Andre, Simone Movio and Nicolas Tzortzis at the Modern Academy, IMPULS Akademie and the ilSuono Academy for Young Composers where his recent work《et lux perpetua》received its premiere in June. Further premiers this year include electronic music《Midnight Sun》for an installation by Hong Kong Artist Kingsley Ng at the CYCLE Music and Arts Festival in Iceland, and string quartet《Jarosinski-fragments》for the Asian Music Festival 2017 organized by the Asian Composers’ League.

李一葦是香港土生土長的長笛演奏家,先後以最高榮譽畢業於香港演藝學院(2014)及英國皇家音樂學院(2016),現為香港創樂團成員及香港小交響樂團特約樂手。李氏曾參與多個本地及海外夏季學院,包括亞洲青年管弦樂團、倫敦小交響樂團學院,及瑞士琉森音樂節學院。李氏亦於2015年應琉森音樂節邀請,以獨奏家身份於作曲家布列茲的紀念音樂會上演出他為長笛及合奏小組譜寫的 Mémoriale (... explosante-fixe... Originel),大獲好評。


李氏也是一名活躍作曲家,並曾參與數個作曲大師班,如 IMPULS Akademie, ilSuono Academy for Young Composers,及香港創樂團現代學院,師隨作曲家細川俊夫、Mark Andre、Simone Movio及Nicolas Tzortzis。近年的委約作品包括為澳門Sound and Image Challenge Festival開幕禮創作的《Aeolian Scriptures》,為西班牙奧維耶多新音樂節創作的小/中提琴二重奏《sous rature》,及為本地藝術家伍韶勁於冰島CYCLE音樂及藝術節裝置藝術作品Moon‧Gate創作的電子音樂《Midnight Sun》。他的弦樂四重奏《Jarosinski-fragments》亦曾於由亞洲作曲家同盟主辦的亞洲音樂節2017中亮相。


Ouroboros: Antarabhava Gita [Y.C. Ng in Memoriam] (2012 – 13)

     for 0, 0, 2, 0, 1, 0, 1, 1, perc., guzheng, 2 pnos., strings

… on the verge of…: Preamble to a Discourse on Violence (2014)
     for 2+1, 2+1, 2+1, 2+1, 4, 3, 2+1, 1, timp., 3, hrp., pno., strings

Quartych (2010 – 11)

     for 1, 1, 1+1, alt. sax., ten. sax., c. bsn., 1, 1, b. tbn., 1, 4, hrp., pno., 2 string quintets


Ensemble (6 players +)


Jarisonski-Aphorismen (2015)

     5 Bagatelles for saxophone(s), string quartet and percussion

Ouroboros: Antarabhava Gita [Y.C. Ng in Memoriam] (2012 – 13)

     for 2 clarinets, horn, trombone, tuba, percussion, guzheng, 2 pianos, 2 violins, 2 violas, cello and bass

Threnos (2012)

     for alto flute, english horn, 4 clarinets, alto saxophone, 2 bassoons, trumpet and percussion

Perspectives on Feria (2011)

     for horn, trombone, tuba, percussion, piano and string quartet


Chamber (6 players -)


Jarosinski-Fragments (2016)

     for string quartet

Firecircle (2016)

     Diptych for flute(s) and percussion

On the Nature of Dreams (2013)

     for 2 soprano saxophones and tape


     for oboe, bassoon, violin, viola and bass

… in search of… (2012)

     for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon

Eulogy (2010 – 11)

     for flute, clarinet, viola and piano

Spiral Meditation (2010)

     for oboe and piano


Instrumental Solo

aux portes des rêves (2015)

     for solo piano

La neige de temps: étude en mélancholie (2015)

     for sheng and tape


Vocal / Choral

Nostalgie-Dialektik (2015)

     for countertenor, soprano, flute (picc., flt. alt.), violin, cello, guitar, yangqin, harp and piano


Electronic / Electroacoustic Music


Entre mondes: 5 études en transit (2016)

     for curated concert programme with tapes

Étude en mélancholie (2015)

     for tape

Selon « L'Interprétation des rêves » (2012)

     for tape

Du silence de la nuit (2010)

     for tape




Elaborazione [on J.S. Bach’s Bandinerie, Orchestral Suite no.2, BWV 1067] (2012)

     for flute, oboe and bassoon

Oblivion [arrangement on Ástor Piazzolla’s work of same name] (2011 – 12)

     for 2 flutes and piano

Second Movement from Shostakovich’s Cello Sonata in D minor, Op.40 (2010)

     for clarinet, horn, trombone, percussion, 2 pianos and string quartet




Tractatus Musico-Philosophicus: Wagner, Nietzsche, and Thereafter (2013 – 14)

     Bachelor’s Degree Thesis


Copyright © 2018 Hong Kong Composers' Guild Ltd. All rights reserved.

Subscribe for ENews 訂閱本會消息
  • HKCG page
  • HKCG channel