HUI Tak-cheung 許德彰


Hui Tak Cheung was born in Hong Kong. He was the resident composer of the Ligeti Academy in 2010 and European Composers’ Professional Development Programme in 2011. His works are performed in different countries such as China, Denmark, the Netherlands, UK and have broadcast on Dutch and Danish radio stations. Recent collaborations and commissions include the New Wind traditional music ensemble at Central Conservatory, Ensemble 10/10 at the Huddersfield Cotemporary Music Festival 2011, Ensemble Looptail at the Amsterdam Composers’ Festival 2011 and Nieuw Ensemble at the Gaudeamus Muziek Week 2012 and Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ evening concert series 2013.


Hui started his formal education of music at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Art under the supervision of Law Wing Fai and Lo Hau Man. He completed his masters’ degree at Conservatorium van Amsterdam. During his academic years, he awarded the Heng Seng Bank Scholarship and Inter-Sections Fellowship with commission prize. He also attended master-classes including, Zymunt Krauze, Michael Finnissy, Tristan Murail and Kaija Saariaho.

Out of the Shadow (2013) 9mins

     for Percussion Duo

128 (2013) 6mins

     for Clarinet, Synthesizer, Drum-kit and Electronic

Crack between the reflections (2013) 10mins

     for 2 Flutes, Oboe, 2 Clarinets, Harp, Piano, 2 Percussions, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Contrabass

Frozen In (2013) 7mins

     for Shakuhachi, Flute, Alto Saxophone, Cello, Contrabass 

Tale of an old picture (2012) 9mins

     for Flute, Clarient, Piano, Percussion, Violin, Cello

As a fallen Leaf, on a waving stream (2012) 10mins

     for Flute, Oboe, Clarinets, Guitar, Mandolin, Harp, Piano, Percussion, Violin, Viola, Cello, Contrabass

Way to the other Shore (2012) 10mins

     for Woodwind Quartet, Brass Trio, Piano and String Quartet

Magnified II (2011) 7mins

     for Pipa, Sheng, Zheng, Flute, Alto Saxophone and Horn

52 matches in the dark (2011) 7mins

     for Alto Saxophone

The Mist inside (2011) 10mins

     for Recorder, Flute, Oboe, 2 Clarinets, Bass Clarinet, Alto Sax, Horn, 2 Violins, Cello, Harp, Piano

Behind the whispers (2010) 9mins

     for Souna and Electronic

Between the distance (2010) 12mins

     for Violin, Piano

String quartet no.1 (2010) 8mins

Glimpses of ink landscape (2009) 9mins

     for large Orchestra

Sense (2009) 8mins

     for Contrabass, Computer

Rhymes (2009) 8mins

     for Tenor, Zheng, Pipa, Guan, Cello, Percussion

Two Lines (2009) 7mins

     for 9 parts a cappella

The Path (2008) 8mins

     for Sheng, Piano

Urban Hakka (2008) 8mins

     for Violin, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Piano, Percussion

In Between I (2008) 7mins

     for San Xian, 21 pipes Sheng

Magnified (2008) 8mins

     for Violin, Contrabass, Flute, Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Piano

The Mist (2007) 8mins

     for Harp, Vibraphone, Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet

Bu Ju (2007) 8mins

     for 21 Pipes Sheng, Zheng, Violin, Cello                                                                           

Coincidence (2006) 7mins

     for Piano, Flute, 12-hole Chromatic Harmonica

Copyright © 2020 Hong Kong Composers' Guild Ltd. All rights reserved.

Subscribe for ENews 訂閱本會消息
  • HKCG page
  • HKCG channel