CHENG Anthony 鄭汝森


Anthony Cheng - a songwriter, film and contemporary music composer, sound engineer and music producer in Hong Kong. His debut on the music scene was as a pianist and composer. As a frequent-awarded composer in multidisciplinary fields of music composition, Cheng’s music consists of an eclectic inspiration of a variety of musical styles. Cheng completed his master degree in music at King's College, London and Ph.D. at the University of Hong Kong. His former composition teachers include Dr. Joshua Chan at HKU, Dr. Silvina Milstein and Professor Sir Harrison Birtwistle at King's. He was a pupil of Denise Ham in orchestral conducting at the Royal Academy of Music.


His compositions have been performed internationally at ISCM (Hong Kong 2002), Asia Ocarina Festival (Japan 2012; Taiwan 2016), Musicacoustica-Beijing (Beijing 2014, 2017), IDRS (Tokyo 2015), and in various countries and cities such as Hong Kong, Macau, United Kingdom, Northern Ireland, Japan, China, and Taiwan. Cheng also appeared as composer and conductor with ensembles and orchestras including London University Symphony Orchestra, Surrey Philharmonic Orchestra (UK), Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra, Hong Kong Medical Association Orchestra, HKU Union Philharmonic Orchestra, Lontano (UK) and King’s Harmonica Quintet (HK). Besides, Cheng has been frequently commissioned to write new works by Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Hong Kong Composers’ Guild, Music Office LCSD, several music affiliations and independent artists/musicians.


Cheng is now teaching electronic music and popular music production at Hong Kong Baptist University, the Education University of Hong Kong and Hong Kong Lingnan University.


鄭汝森 - 集流行、電影、當代音樂作曲家及唱片監製於一身。早年於英國倫敦大學King’s College音樂碩士畢業,並於香港大學取得哲學博士學位。於2002年開設音樂製作公司Takumi Works,至今曾為過百多個本地及海外的客戶致力創作多不勝數的音樂,並參與國際大型盛事中的音樂後期製作。



Western Orchestra

Lament for the Princess Diana (1999) [7']

     for 2, 2, 2, 2 - 2, 2, 2, 1, timp, str

Le Lac d'Annecy - A Picture by Paul Cezanne (1999) [8'30"]
     for 2, 2, 2, 2 - 2, 2, 2, 1, harp, timp, perc, str


Chinese Orchestra


Songful Clock Tower (2001) [7']




Red Lanterns (2014) [1'30"]

     for vla, vc, & pf

Blue House (2013) [2'30"]

     for vla & DB

DAN (2012) [1'30"]

     for cl, vln & vc

Sketches for Wind Quintet (2000) [8']

     for fl, ob, cl, bsn & hn

Trio No.1 (2000) [11']

     for cl, vc & pf

Love Dialogues (2000) [3']

     for vln duo

Carnival Overture - for the Aberystwyth International Musicfest '99 (1999) [3']

     for sax, tpt, tbn, vc & pf

Piano Quintet (1998) [7'30"]

     for fl, vln, vla, vc & pf

String Quartet II - Return to China (1998) [6']

     for string quartet

String Quartet I - Romance (1998) [6']

     for string quartet

Music for Woodwind Quintet, Percussion, and Vibraphone (1998) [13']

     for fl, ob, cl, hn, bsn, perc & vibes

Psycho-mind (1996) [5'30"]

     for soprano, fl, vln, vc, pf & perc


Instrumental Solo

Three Studies for Piano (1998-2000) [5']

     for pf

Children Pieces for Pianos (1997-2000) [11']

     for pf or 2 pf

Chorale Preludes (1998-1999) [3']

     for org

Impromptus No.1 (1997) [6']

     for pf

Clarinet Solitude (1996) [6']
     for cl


Vocal / Choral

Wu Xing (2011) [8'30"]

     for mixed choir, chamber ensemble & tape

From the HADES - Opera in Four Acts (2006) [ca.90']

     for soloists & chamber ensemble

Enigma (2004) [16']

     for soprano, tenor, vc & pf

Hail, Holy Queen (2004) [4'20"]

     for tenor, vln & pf

Chanson Triste (2002) [7'30"]

     for tenor, fl & pf

Ave verum corpus, Op.5 (2001) [4']

     for SATB choir, str & org

Praeludium, Chorale and Fughetto, Op.3, No.1 (1998) [4']

     for org & SATB choir

Ave Maria, Op.2 (1998) [6']

     for soprano solo, SATB choir, hn & org


Electronic / Electroacoustic Music


Bushido II (2015) [15']

     for Shakuhachi, harp, Japanese perc, orchestra & live electronics

The Great Wall. End (2016) [6']

     for erhu, pipa, guzheng, field recordings & live electronics

sound x interstellar (2015) [5']

     for tape

Bushido (2015) [9']

     for Shakuhachi, harp, perc, live electronics & tape

iMagEs of Life (2014) [7']

     for video & tape

War Prayer (2012) [6'45"]

     for video & tape

The AniFortune (2003) [8']

     for soprano & tape

Four Seasons from An Unknown Country (1999) [10']

     for vibes & tape




Lost and Regain (2015) [15']

     for tape

Copyright © 2021 Hong Kong Composers' Guild Ltd. All rights reserved.

Subscribe for ENews 訂閱本會消息
  • HKCG page
  • HKCG channel